

Terms Of Reference of the

WESTERN EUROPEAN NUCLEAR REGULATORS' ASSOCIATION (WENRA)

- 1. We, the Heads of Nuclear Regulatory Authorities (signatories) of European countries with nuclear power plants:
 - drawing from the experience already gained with WENRA and noting its achievements,
 - recognizing that the current regulatory challenges in Europe lead to envisage the activities of WENRA in a broader perspective,
 - re-affirming the need for increased co-operation between us, and
 - maintaining our independence,

have again revised the previous Terms of Reference of the Western European Nuclear Regulators' Association (WENRA), which were signed on 4 February 1999 and revised on 14 March 2003 and on 26 March 2010.

- 2. With the general aim of improving nuclear safety, has the following objectives:
 - to build and maintain a network of chief nuclear safety regulators in Europe,
 - to promote exchange of experience and learning from each others best practices,
 - to develop a harmonized approach to nuclear safety and regulation, in particular within the European Union,
 - to discuss and, where appropriate, express its opinion on significant safety and regulatory issues.
- 3. Decisions in the name of WENRA are taken by consensus.
- 4. WENRA will keep the European Union Institutions informed about its activities, and is prepared to consider requests from these institutions for advice on nuclear safety and regulatory matters.
- 5. Heads of the regulatory authorities (or corresponding) in other European countries, which have expressed an interest, are invited as observers to WENRA. Observers have the right to express their opinion at the WENRA meetings but can not participate in the decision making. Observers may send suitably qualified participants to the working groups.
- 6. WENRA will develop and maintain, when appropriate, suitable relations with regulatory authorities from other countries as well as with international organisations.
- 7. WENRA will ensure appropriate opportunities for stakeholders to comment on its work.



Belgium	Bulgaria
1	L. 656
Jan BENS	
Czech Republic	Finland
Hullan	F
on lekel Dana DRÁBOVA	A Petteri TIIPPANA
France	i.A. All Lowel
Pierre-Franck CHEVE	
Hungary	Mefacothy
Gyula FICHTINGER	Stefano LAPORTA
Lithuania Michail DEMČENKO	Romania
Slovak Republic	Slovenia Constantin POPESCU
Marta ŽIAKOVA	A Toutons
Spain Antoni GURGU	Sweden Fredrik HASSEL
Switzerland	The Netherlands
	Lodewijk VAN AERNSBERGEN
f. Warranne	On behalf of Jan VAN DEN HEUVEL, Director General of the Authority for Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection (ANVS)
Hans WANNER Ukraine Serhii BOZHKO	of the Authority for Nuclear Safety and Radiation